Skip to content

Fun With Soccer

April 18, 2012

Regular listeners to First State Financial  Sunday Morning Sports Talk (9 am-Noon Sundays on NewsRadio 630 WLAP and wlap.com) are familiar with my love of soccer. Now, I fully admit that soccer isn’t perfect and that one of the things the sport would do well to rid itself of is the diving that is epidemic in some (most) European leagues and at major international competitions. As I mentioned Monday night, Arsenal coach Arsene Wenger agrees with me.

Last week, the comic strip Get Fuzzy by Darby Conley decided to have some fun at “The Beautiful Game’s” expense. My dad enjoyed them so much he mailed them to me, so I have decided to share them with you, although without the use of the Postal Service since I’m not entirely certain that I remember how to mail things. All are (c) Darby Conley and are reprinted only because I found them amusing. I hope he doesn’t sue me.

Enjoy.

April 12

Get Fuzzy 4-12

April 13

April 14

Get Fuzzy 4-14

Another Word of Thanks

I have been producing this blog since January, although admittedly with a slow start. Today is April 18 and (largely thanks the ridiculous and still puzzling success of my post about the Lexington couch burnings during the Final Four) at some point today April will surpass March’s readership numbers. March produced more readers than I ever thought would bother to look at this in a year, so I thank all of you who have taken the time to read any of my  absurd rantings. I enjoy writing them, but it is considerably more fun when I know people read them — or at least land here by search engine error. Whichever.

Programming Note

Today and tomorrow I will be on the currently awkwardly named WLAP Afternoon Show from 3-6 pm as the station tries to find a replacement for the departed Leland Conway. You never know, that replacement could end up being me, although it was a bit of a shock this morning to re-engage with pages of the newspaper that don’t say “SPORTS” in big  letters at the top.

Give us a listen and let us know what you think.

From → Other, Soccer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

